Everybody do the Clean Teeth Dance!

Kid-Lit-Blog-HopI’m linking this post up with the Kid Lit Blog Hop!

If you’re having trouble getting your little one to brush his or teeth before bed, Felicity Brooks and Desideria Guicciardini have just the book for you. In fact, I’m thinking they must have their own little night owls who inspired Brush your teeth, Max and Millie!

Brush your teeth, Max and Millie, Usborne Toddler Books

I must say, refusal to brush teeth hasn’t been an issue in our house. My Max actually cries when you take his toothbrush away. He picked up the book in the library specifically because he saw a kid brushing his teeth on the front. (The name was a happy accident!)

Anyway, Millie has something against brushing her teeth. Her dad isn’t sure why, but it’s always a struggle, and nightly he ends up brushing them for her. (I had a flashback to my mom sitting on my brother’s chest to hold him down while my dad brushed the crazy kid’s teeth. Oddly, the illustrations in the book didn’t show it that way.)

The little girl learns an important lesson when her friend Max comes over to spend the night – brushing your teeth doesn’t need to be a chore; in fact, it can be fun! When Max gets the toothpaste on his toothbrush, he brushes up and down, back and forth. He spits with gusto, then busts out his Clean Teeth moves.

Though Max was already all about brushing his teeth, there are certainly some routines he’s not as fond of, like putting on clothes or changing his diaper (or lately, using the potty). Due to this book, I have a new way to react to “Mr. No”: tell him we have to get it done to do the We’re Wearing Clothes Dance/the Clean Diaper Dance/the I Went Potty Dance.

The kid’s a sucker for dancing. It’ll work.

For this brand new insight, I’d say Brush your teeth, Max and Millie deserves 5 snacks:

12 thoughts on “Everybody do the Clean Teeth Dance!

  1. Ooohhh….. I will definitely try this book out. My four year old is still so mad when its toothbrushing time. And, I am always so tired for the nighttime brushing, which makes it even more difficult to take. Hopefully this will work. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Hi Jaymie, your links (from the hostess link and the link in the linky list) are working just fine – just wanted to let you know that. This book looks so cute. Brushing teeth is not an issue in our house either but it’s like yuo said, you could easily apply the context to other situations. Thanks for hosting the Kid Lit Blog Hop with me again! :-)

    • Phew, thanks! It’s absolutely my pleasure :) I think I’ve read them all up to item 51, which was the last one when I checked earlier. So many great posts! I really loved all the ones with the Amy Rosenthal books. We’re looking her up at the library next time we’re there!

  3. This is an interesting book. Writers think of all sorts of things to write about and make it work.
    Nice to see everyone on the Kit Lit Hop. I am co-hosting but may not be doing this all correctly. I do like your site and love the review.

  4. Hi Jaymie! This was a great post! I still remember having to put my son in a head-lock and while his legs and arms were moving in all directions to get away from me, I’d quickly brush his teeth with edible toothpaste, so he wouldn’t have to rinse and spit. That would have been too much effort! Another child of mine used to lie about brushing teeth. Because it’s so important, I still brush my 4-year-old’s teeth (Amanda) for her. She does it herself, but then I still quickly brush as well to make sure nothing was missed. Thanks for visiting my blog Amanda’s Books and More!

    • Thanks for the kind words! Yep, that’s what we do with Max. He kind of sucks off all the kiddie toothpaste while I’m brushing mine, then when I’m finished I help him some more. He likes us to sit on the bathroom floor when I help him. I’m not sure why, but it’s become part of our teeth brushing routine!

Leave a Reply

