Anybody have some crayons?

Max received not one, not two, not three, but TWELVE coloring books for Christmas. (I’m not complaining, only observing with emphasis!) We only had two to begin with, and I bought him three of the twelve. At least we won’t run out of pictures anytime soon, and this frame he opened for Christmas should always be filled.

The two coloring books we already had were these two from Warner Press:away in a manger E4638 Cover.indd

TJanuary 2012he president of the publisher happens to be a customer of my husband’s, and when he discovered that his favorite phone guy had a toddler at home, he retrieved the two coloring books, as well as an Egermeier’s Bible Storybook for Beginners out of his trunk. He immediately became our favorite of daddy’s customers!

My favorite part of the Warner Press coloring books is that they aren’t just pictures; they’re also stories.

In the case of “Away in a Manger”, the first page shows a sister and brother. One of them asks, “Do you know the words to Away in a Manger?” The rest of the book is a line per page from the song, with a page of the same sister and brother talking about singing the song with their family, and another page with Luke 2:11.

“Noah’s Ark” tells the story of Noah and how he obeyed God, with Genesis 9:15 closing out the last page.

The coloring books are specifically for Sunday School teachers to photocopy and use in classes, but they are wonderful for individual families as well to reinforce the stories of the Bible with their children. And hey, since the photocopying idea is out there, you can make copies for your child to try different coloring ideas on the same picture. Who among us hasn’t finished a picture, then decided they wished they’d done something different? (Unless that’s just me.)

Because these books are interactive, simple, and easy to teach a child, “Away in a Manger” and “Noah’s Ark” deserve 4 snacks each:Snacks, Gerber

16 thoughts on “Anybody have some crayons?

  1. Doing the same picture again in a different way is a great idea for developing concepts of reflecting on one’s own work. I’ve heard my flesh owner (who is a teacher) many a time lamenting the lack of desire of kids in her class to re-draft a picture they’ve drawn to add different ideas or improvements….start ’em young, I say!

  2. Thanks for hosting another great Kid Lit Blog Hop! I love your coloring books for Max. It’s great that there isn’t a copyright issue for Sunday School teachers to photocopy the pages for their classes. I used to photocopy my girls’ special Disney books, because they were too small to color in the lines and I didn’t want to waist the beautiful pictures with one go. Now they’ve grown up and their little sister, Amanda, has her own coloring books, which I don’t photocopy unless she is having a birthday party and coloring is one of the activities. 🙂

    Tina – Amanda’s Books and More

    • I love coloring as an activity at a birthday party! I think we’ll have an Eric Carle themed party for Max this year. I’m sure I can find a great page for young guests to color (I’m sure they’ll all be out of the lines too!).

    • Thanks so much for visiting! I’ll be doing most of my blog hopping tomorrow and Sunday. Can’t wait to visit your link!

  3. Happy New Year, Jaymie! When you said that you and your sister still enjoy coloring, this made me think that everyone likes to colour. It is very therapeutic and, especially with children, puts them at ease.

  4. Omigosh! Seriously? 12 colouring books? That’s enough for a lifetime if you photocopy the pages! We’ve been photocopying pages for a long time because we would go through colouring books so quickly and because the pages are often so thin that you can only use one side because of the bleeding (of markers) through the page. Thanks for hosting the Kid Lit Blog Hop Jaymie! 🙂

    • Agree! Heidi, I tried to comment on your blog from the Linky earlier, and it wouldn’t recognize my OpenID credentials. Not sure what happened.

Leave a Reply

