National D.E.A.R. Day, once again

April 12 is National D.E.A.R. Day! I wrote a post last year for the Authors Lounge blog that still applies today. What will you read to celebrate?

I am the girl who got to the end of the lunch line in 3rd grade and looked up from my book to the cafeteria lady’s “ahem”, completely oblivious to the fact that I’d gone the whole way through the line without picking up a single item of food.

I am the girl who appeared in family videos as only the top of a head peeking out from above Anne of Green Gables while the rest of the cousins played flashlight tag.

So I might be a little biased toward reading.

Then again, I’m also the girl who scored well on the SAT and the GRE, who writes stories for her son, and who holds intelligent conversations with people about things she’s never experienced, but rather only read about.

So reading worked out for me!

And it can work out for your kids too. You just might have to nudge them toward it. As James Patterson said to CNN, “Sorry, moms and dads, but it’s your job — not the schools’ — to find books to get your kids reading and to make sure they read them.”

Beverly Cleary, National D.E.A.R. Day, #dearday, literacy, children, readingYou can get started by joining in April 12 for National D.E.A.R. Day, a day to Drop Everything And Read.

Do you remember this day from when you were in school? It was a day that you got to read whatever you wanted, all day long (my version of heaven on Earth).

This year on D.E.A.R. Day, families are encouraged to celebrate together – take a half an hour out of your day to sit and read with your kids. Your children will see from your example that reading is important.

Boys, especially, need to read with their male role model and see him read on his own. According to studies done on literacy, boys who are read to “by their fathers scored significantly higher in reading achievement, and when fathers read recreationally, their sons read more and scored higher than did boys whose fathers did little or no recreational reading.”

As an author, you can both promote reading with D.E.A.R. and keep working on publicity for your books.

Write a blog post about your D.E.A.R. Day memories, mentioning some of your favorite books. Tell your readers how you’ll celebrate this year.

Send a tweet about National D.E.A.R. Day. If you use the hashtag #dearday on Twitter, all those people following the term to find out more about it will be able to find you and follow you.

Comment on Facebook Fan Pages about D.E.A.R. Day. You’ll catch the administrators’ attention with the subject, and hopefully they’ll recommend your Fan Page to their fans.

Above all, the theme behind D.E.A.R. Day is that reading is important. For authors, that can only be a good thing to go viral.

5 thoughts on “National D.E.A.R. Day, once again

  1. I couldn’t have said it better. As a school librarian, I do my best to encourage children to read and try to help them find books that suit their interest. But the fact is that there is only one of me and time doesn’t permit me to talk to each child each week. I always know when the student has an involved parent who encourages them to read, it makes a huge difference. Thanks for the shout out for DEAR day.

    Geo Librarian
    Kid Lit Blog Hop

  2. Isn’t every day D.E.A.R. Day?! Oh, I missed that memo! I can’t imagine not having books around. It’s kind of funny, but I generally only read before bedtime and if I finish a book. I can’t just close it and go to sleep. I absolutely have to start reading a new one, even if I only read one chapter! I can never be “between books”. lol

    Thanks for linking your post into the Kid Lit Blog Hop and for hosting once again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

