Thanksgiving snacks and Christmas trees

This year marks the first time I’ll hold Thanksgiving at my house, which is somewhat daunting. My maternal grandparents always used to host until that side of the family grew so much that we couldn’t fit in two rooms of their house. For the past decade, my uncle has had the whole clan over to his house for the holiday. This year, we’re having a day-after-Thanksgiving feast at my house, which is the most central location to a family whose members span three states.

the divine pineFor now, my dilemma is decorating (we’ll worry about the food later on!); do I use fall decor or do I go tree shopping now? I’m leaning toward the tree, since my aunt generally has hers up at this gathering and we have way more Christmas decorations than fall ones. As I was thinking about Christmas trees, The Divine Pine by Tracy M. Novembre caught my eye.

The book opens with a woman excited to buy her Christmas tree and decorate for the holiday. However, a blizzard warning chases her home before she completes her purchase. At home, she snuggles into her warm living room until she starts hearing knocks on the door. Each knock is a different animal family asking for shelter in the huge pine tree in the woman’s front yard, and each time the woman welcomes them.

Before long, bluebirds and cardinals, raccoons and deer are taking shelter in and under the tree, transforming the once monochromatic tree into a multi-colored wonder. Though the woman does not get to decorate her Christmas tree, she does get to enjoy a beautiful sight.

The message of the book is the message of Christmas: giving unto others is its own reward. The woman feels good about herself for helping shelter the animals from the storm, so much so that the beautiful, colorful pine tree in her front yard is just icing on the cake. I love this message and can’t find enough books that share it!

For it’s beautiful message, The Divine Pine deserves four snacks:

Snacks, Gerber

8 thoughts on “Thanksgiving snacks and Christmas trees

  1. Sounds like a lovely message and a great book. I would do your tree shopping if I were you, too. 🙂 We usually decorate the day after Thanksgiving for Christmas but if I were having guests, I would decorate earlier for sure. My favorite holiday by far.
    Thanks for hosting the Kid Lit Blog Hop.
    Have a wonderful rest of the week,
    Christine M/Cool Mom

  2. It really is a beautiful message, and so much the spirit of Christmas. One that you wish to read all year round 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving and I am SURE you will do great decorations! Wishing you and your family a lovely holiday. Thanks for sharing for a wonderful review. I hope to find this one at the library.
    -Reshama @ Stackingbooks

  3. Oh this sounds so lovely. I can’t remotely imagine having blizzard in December because as you know we are on the other side of the world and it is so hot at this time for us. Thanks so much for another great book recommendation and for hosting the Kid Lit Blog Hop

  4. I can understand the pressure to host a nice family dinner party at home, since grandma and uncle already did good examples before. And I love those snacks. They just look like pine trees.
    Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful book on Kid Lit Blog Hop!

  5. What a sweet book! Thanks for sharing. I’ve experienced the Thanksgiving decorating dilemma many times. Usually I use fall decor on the table, but I say put up the tree now if you have the time!

  6. This book sounds so sweet. I really like the underlying message and the way the author chooses to tell the story. Thanks for linking into the Kid Lit Blog Hop. Interesting dilemma about the decorating. Lucky for me, Canadians celebrate Thanksgiving in October! Then, our rule is that we get the tree and decorations for Christmas on the first weekend in December. Hope you have a nice time with your family!! Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. Pingback: Kid Lit Giveaway Hop Holiday Extravaganza! | Snacks for Max

Leave a Reply

