This is one burning book

The Library Dragon is one burning book. An elementary hires a new librarian who really fires up the rest of the faculty. She has green, purple and gold scales; she breathes fire; and she incinerates any books she deems cruel to dragons.

Library Dragon book The worst part of the new librarian’s reign is that she is too good a guard of the books. She posts signs telling students not to even think about touching, let alone reading, any of her precious books. The students’ spirits and grades die down like a doused campfireโ€”until one brave yet unwitting student changes all of that.

There is so much to love about this book:

  • All of the fire words: make a game of reading by counting them!
  • The passion each teacher shows for books and (by the end) students!
  • The fantastic illustrations!

For little ones going to school for the first time, The Library Dragon is a great book to introduce them to the idea of the library at school, leading to a conversation about treating books with respect so others can enjoy them.

It’s also a great book for opening a conversation about your child’s teacher. Is their teacher more like Ms. Lemon or more like the Library Dragon? Why do they think that is?

We love the Library Dragon and will I’m sure enjoy many more readings before Max starts school! Which of your children will love this book the most?

The Library Dragon deserves 5 snacks:

5 snacks

25 thoughts on “This is one burning book

  1. As a retired children’s librarian, this would be a must if I were doing a storytime!! Sounds like a fun book with lots of room for learning! Glad I wasn’t like this librarian though! I wanted my kids to check those books out!!

  2. Lovely idea. I would love to read this to the new first graders as well I havent read this one yet. Looking forward to it. Thanks for sharing!
    -Reshama @StackingBooks.com

  3. I haven’t read it before so I looked it up and the library has it so we are going there this morning to get it!! Thanks for the good idea. My son goes back to school next week so it might be which one do you want your teacher to be more like ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the great review.

    • Awesome! Be sure to let me know how you like it ๐Ÿ™‚ Tweet me a picture of your son with the book and I’ll add it to the review!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Just mention @snacksformax or @jaymielynnie.

  4. Couldn’t help but chuckle. There must have been something in the ether this week…the two picture books I reviewed this week were both…wait for it…about DRAGONS! Maybe I should take it as a sign from the universe and finally break down and watch “The Hobbit”? Or maybe I can just be appreciative there are so many wonderful bloggers out there spotlighting great books for children and families. As always a pleasure! See you around the hops!

  5. This made me giggle. I once knew a librarian that we called The Book Nazi. You have to love librarians who are passionate about taking good care of the books in the library.

  6. This sounds so great – I can just imagine teachers and librarians reading this one to their students! Thanks for sharing it in the Kid Lit Blog Hop. I’m pinning this one to my Kid Lit Blog Hop Great Finds. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment